BOROUGH OF SOUTH PLAINFIELD PLANNING BOARD REORGANIZATION - MINUTES January 24, 2023

Robert Ackerman opened the meeting at 7:00 pm stating that this meeting is being held in accordance with the Open Public Meetings Act, by posting a notice to The Courier News and The Star Ledger and providing the same to the Borough Clerk.

It is the policy of the Borough of South Plainfield's Planning Board not to hear any new cases after 10:00 pm and no new witnesses after 10:30 pm.

Roll Call:

Present: Absent:

Mayor Matthew Anesh
Councilman Derryck White
Robert Ackerman
Gerry Butrico
Brian Bythell
Maria Campagna, Alt. 2
Richard Houghton
Susan Lepore, Alt. 1
John Mocharski
Jack Pedersen
Michael Pellegrino

Also Present:

Bob Ackerman called for a motion to elect the CHAIRMAN. John Mocharski made motion to elect **Robert Ackerman** as **CHAIRMAN**, seconded by Councilman Derryck White. Those in Favor: Mayor Anesh; Councilman White; Mr. Butrico; Mr. Bythell; Mrs. Campagna; Ms. Lepore; Mr. Mocharski; Mr. Pedersen; Mr. Pellegrino; Mr. Houghton; Mr. Ackerman. Those Oppose: None.

Chairman Ackerman called for a motion to elect the VICE CHAIRMAN Councilman Derryck White made motion to elect *Richard Houghton* as VICE CHAIRMAN, seconded John Mocharski. Those in Favor: Mayor Anesh; Councilman White; Mr. Butrico; Mr. Bythell; Mrs. Campagna; Ms. Lepore; Mr. Mocharski; Mr. Pedersen; Mr. Pellegrino; Mr. Houghton; Mr. Ackerman. Those Oppose: None.

Chairman Ackerman called for a motion to elect LEGAL COUNSEL. Chairman Robert Ackerman made motion to elect *Savo, Schalk, Gillespie, O'Grodnick & Fisher, PA – Matthew Flynn, Esq* as LEGAL COUNSEL, seconded by Councilman Derryck White. Those in Favor: Mayor Anesh; Councilman White; Mr. Butrico; Mr. Bythell; Mrs. Campagna; Ms. Lepore; Mr. Mocharski; Mr. Pedersen; Mr. Pellegrino; Mr. Houghton; Mr. Ackerman. Those Oppose: None.

Chairman Ackerman called for a motion to elect CONFLICT LEGAL COUNSEL. John Mocharski made motion to elect *PRB Attorneys at Law* as **CONFLICT LEGAL COUNSEL**, seconded by Councilman Derryck White Those in Favor: Mayor Anesh; Councilman White; Mr. Butrico; Mr. Bythell; Mrs. Campagna; Ms. Lepore; Mr. Mocharski; Mr. Pedersen; Mr. Pellegrino; Mr. Houghton; Mr. Ackerman. Those Oppose: None.

Chairman Ackerman called for a motion to elect the ENGINEER. Chairman Robert Ackerman made motion to elect **T&M Associates – Andrew Denbigh, PE, CFM** as **ENGINEER**, seconded by John Mocharski. Those in Favor: Mayor Anesh; Councilman White; Mr. Butrico; Mr. Bythell; Mrs. Campagna; Ms. Lepore; Mr. Mocharski; Mr. Pedersen; Mr. Pellegrino; Mr. Houghton; Mr. Ackerman. Those Oppose: None.

Chairman Ackerman called for a motion to elect the CONFLICT ENGINEER. Chairman Robert Ackerman made motion to elect *Najarian Associates* as CONFLICT ENGINEER, seconded Suzanne Lepore. Those in Favor: Mayor Anesh; Councilman White; Mr. Butrico; Mr. Bythell; Mrs. Campagna; Ms. Lepore; Mr. Mocharski; Mr. Pedersen; Mr. Pellegrino; Mr. Houghton; Mr. Ackerman. Those Oppose: None.

BOROUGH OF SOUTH PLAINFIELD PLANNING BOARD REORGANIZATION - MINUTES January 24, 2023

Chairman Ackerman called for a motion to elect PLANNER. Chairman Robert Ackerman made motion to elect **T&M Associates – Caroline Reiter, PP, AICP** as **PLANNER**, seconded by Suzanne Lepore. Those in Favor: Mayor Anesh; Councilman White; Mr. Butrico; Mr. Bythell; Mrs. Campagna; Ms. Lepore; Mr. Mocharski; Mr. Pedersen; Mr. Pellegrino; Mr. Houghton; Mr. Ackerman. Those Oppose: None.

Chairman Ackerman called for a motion to elect CONFLICT PLANNER. Chairman Robert Ackerman made motion to elect *Najarian Associates* as **CONFLICT PLANNER**, seconded by Councilman Derryck White. Those in Favor: Mayor Anesh; Councilman White; Mr. Butrico; Mr. Bythell; Mrs. Campagna; Ms. Lepore; Mr. Mocharski; Mr. Pedersen; Mr. Pellegrino; Mr. Houghton; Mr. Ackerman. Those Oppose: None.

Chairman Robert Ackerman made motion, seconded by John Mocharski to elect **Stephanie Merola** as the **BOARD RECORDING SECRETARY**. Those in Favor: Mayor Anesh; Councilman White; Mr. Butrico; Mr. Bythell; Mrs. Campagna; Ms. Lepore; Mr. Mocharski; Mr. Pedersen; Mr. Pellegrino; Mr. Houghton; Mr. Ackerman. Those Oppose: None.

Chairman Robert Ackerman made motion, seconded by Councilman Derryck White to designate the OFFICIAL NEWSPAPER as *The South Plainfield Observer, The Courier News and The Star Ledger*. Those in Favor: Mayor Anesh; Councilman White; Mr. Butrico; Mr. Bythell; Mrs. Campagna; Ms. Lepore; Mr. Mocharski; Mr. Pedersen; Mr. Pellegrino; Mr. Houghton; Mr. Ackerman. Those Oppose: None.

Chairman Robert Ackerman made motion, seconded by Councilman Derryck White to adopt the **PLANNING BOARD SCHEDULED MEETING DATES**. Those in Favor: Mayor Anesh; Councilman White; Mr. Butrico; Mr. Bythell; Mrs. Campagna; Ms. Lepore; Mr. Mocharski; Mr. Pedersen; Mr. Pellegrino; Mr. Houghton; Mr. Ackerman. Those Oppose: None.

Chairman Ackerman called for a motion to pass a Resolution to appoint Colliers Engineering and Design as a Special Engineering Consultant to complete the applications that have already begun with Colliers Engineering and Design. Discussion on creating a list of the open applications that Colliers Engineering will be finalizing an finishing. Agreed that Stephanie Merola will create the list and send to the Board Attorney and Robert Ackerman.

John Mocharski made motion, seconded by Michael Pellegrino Those in Favor: Mayor Anesh; Councilman White; Mr. Butrico; Mr. Bythell; Mrs. Campagna; Ms. Lepore; Mr. Mocharski; Mr. Pedersen; Mr. Pellegrino; Mr. Houghton; Mr. Ackerman. Those Oppose: None.

Chairman Robert Ackerman addresses the board and states that there are also going to be changes going forward with how the escrow is handled. Moving forward, the applicants are going to receive an invoice with their outstanding balance and have 30 days to pay the invoice. The professionals will stop work and reviews on the project if the escrow is not paid in the 30 days.

Chairman Ackerman called for a motion to pass this and put into a resolution. John Mocharski made motion, seconded by Councilman Derryck White. Those in Favor: Mayor Anesh; Councilman White; Mr. Butrico; Mr. Bythell; Mrs. Campagna; Ms. Lepore; Mr. Mocharski; Mr. Pedersen; Mr. Pellegrino; Mr. Houghton; Mr. Ackerman. Those Oppose: None.

Adjournment: 7:17 pm

Respectfully Submitted, Stephanie Merola Planning Board Secretary